From Waist Up or Waist Down?

She cannot hide her happiness and is on and one about her pregnancy and newborn coming in few weeks. I listen numbingly through it. My face calm and emotionless but my heart and brain takes the center stage.

“I cannot take it any more,” the squishy-heart laments. “Another look of her belly is going to break me into pieces.”

The big brain looks down and asks, “What is the matter?”

Her voice quivers, “I keep thinking of my baby. He would have been 12 months….”

“You cannot keep thinking about that.” The big brain shakes his head and offers his wisdom. “Instead of focusing on her belly, why don’t you look at her face, shoulders, hands? Anything from waist up.”

She gathers her energy, squeezing her ventricles harder to pump more blood through the body. Things start to focus from waist up: Her friend will be a lovely mother; she is honest, funny, and smart. Most importantly, she loves babies!

The squishy-heart calms down: Heartbeat slows and blood pressure stables. She looks up to the big brain, with a smile, “That was helpful!”

Meanwhile, the big brain has been looking at the friend, from waist down. Millions of neurons in the brain are firing up and going back and forth, finally he shouts, “I am going to explode!”

 

Writing 101, Day Seven:  Give and Take

 

 

 

 

 

 

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Relationships, Writing 101 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

