Lean on Me

A man and a woman are walking through the park, holding hands. The women’s belly has baby bump showing. She leans on him as she walks. Another month, they will be pushing a stroller in the shade, walking as three. The thought of it make them smile.

As they turn the corner, they see an old woman sitting on a bench, humming tunes of a baby lullaby and knitting a small red sweater. The man looks at the sweater, pauses for a second and voice quivering, “Red sweater… my baby girl… I miss her.” The woman gently throws her arm around him, kisses his forehead and pulls him closer to her.  As they walk forward, he tilts his head and leans on her.

Meanwhile, the old woman is speeding up her knitting and mumbling to herself, “I need to finish this before the other grandma does hers. I can do this. Quick, quick, quick.”

 

Writing 101, Day Nine: Changing Moccasins – Point of View

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Relationships, Writing 101 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Lean on Me

  1. I think we have interpreted this assignment somewhat similarly…nice piece of writing 🙂

    Like

  2. kazg10 says:

    Love it! 🙂

    Like

  3. jenniferyterry says:

    Bittersweet but still lighthearted. Really liked it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

