A Flesh and Bone Collector

I am a collector

Others collect treasures, memorable things

I collect flesh and bones

 

A year ago, today

My baby died

I was fighting to live

I came back

He did not

That day

I shuttered into a thousand pieces of

Bleeding flesh and broken bones

That day I lost

My health

My identity, and

My inner light

 

Faces got wet and dried

So many times

I can never have him back

I go pick up my broken pieces

I find the old ones

Friendship and love from my family

I find new ones

Forgiveness and gratitude

I know it is going to take me a long time

Possibly a lifetime

But, I know

It is going to be my masterpiece

A better ME, with

New identity

Stronger health, and

Brighter inner light

 

I am a collector

I collect flesh and bones

 

Writing 101, Day 20: The Things We Treasure

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in birthday/anniversary, Infant Loss, Recovery, Writing 101 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Flesh and Bone Collector

  1. kazg10 says:

    Well said! A perfect tribute to all that has happened and all that will be. I’m thinking of you ….

    Like

  2. Thinking of you today.

    Like

  3. myhopejar says:

    Thinking about you and your precious angel.Big hug hon.

    Like

  4. Karen says:

    Todays thoughts of you
    and a baby too…x

    Like

Leave a Reply

