Exploded Like A Firecracker

It was a peaceful Saturday morning, waiting for Joo preparing brunch. He had his favorite family show on, while he was cooking and taking his sweet time. That is the thing he does, cooking and watching TV, multitasking. Occasionally he burns few dishes and accuses the stove being too hot. I read my blogs on the sofa next to the kitchen, dreaming about my next post.

He casually said, “I saw a father training her daughter putting yesterday at the golf course. I was jealous.”

I raised my head, heart racing.

“I am a good person and better than lots of others. How come I cannot have what the plumber has?   (The plumber is the main character in the family show. He has three kids, and one more on the way.)

“Me too! What did I do to deserve this?” I echoed with Joo.

“Well, if you would have agreed to have a baby right after we were married. Things would have been different. But, you wanted to focus on your career!”

…, …

Like a firecracker, I exploded right there and then, in the kitchen. I fired all the ammunitions: anger, disappointment, and betrayal, straight at Joo’s big head. I was unstoppable, until he waved his little white flag and apologized.

I won, but I did not. In a battle like this, everyone hurts.

As for my brunch, the fried rice tasted like gunpowder.

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Relationships and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Exploded Like A Firecracker

  1. EnKay says:

    Hugs!

    Like

  2. myhopejar says:

    Oh hon, I’m so sorry! What was he thinking?! The timing of when you began trying did not cause this! And it’s not your fault! Big hug hon.

    Like

  3. Aggie M. says:

    Kaboom! Oh my, ouch. Powerful exchange, powerfully written. Thank you for sharing…

    Like

  4. Aggie M. says:

    Just read it again. First part was so good! He expressed his jealousy! You were connecting…

    Like

  5. Pingback: Straight Talk | Journey in the Woods

Leave a Reply

