A View From High Above

“This is your captain speaking.  Another 20 minutes, we will be landing at the Chicago airport.  The local time is 9:30pm.  Outside temperature is 70 degree and clear sky.  You should see fireworks from above.”

Half awake, I opened the shade, leaned my face to the window, gazed at the darkness.  As the plane was slowly descending, the city of Chicago unfolded underneath and wakened my sleepy eyes:  Pools of bright sparkles everywhere like strings of endless yellow diamonds; fireworks from different parts of the city shooting into the sky lit up the city even more.  What a gorgeous view!  I was memorized.  The July 4th holiday was magical.

But, where was I same time last year?  I could not help wondering. Of course, I would never forget:  It was the day I was thrown back to the world of celebration of a national holiday after fighting with a devil and lost.  Nothing made sense that day.  How could I have my baby died but others were allowed to get happy and drunk?  This is so not right.

That night, I learned how cruel the world could be.

Fast forward, same time, a year later, looking at the fireworks from high above, I was enchanted.  Life is full of surprises.

I took out Kevin’s picture and had him facing the magic.  My precious, thank you for letting me taking this trip and reminding me the beauty in life.  Even for few minutes, it is the happy moment I would not have had.

 

 

 

 

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in Infant Loss, Recovery and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A View From High Above

  1. kazg10 says:

    Congrats a really well written and descriptive piece and for your happy moment. I hope there are many more to come.

    Like

Leave a Reply

