Invasion

Scrub, scrub, scrub

I better get this house sparkling clean,

The in-laws are coming;

Scrub, scrub, scrub

I will like their cooking and laugh at their jokes,

Just do not ask me about their grandson;

Scrub, scrub, scrub

I will be a perfect daughter-in-law, perky and attentive,

Just do not ask me to sit through her depressing reminiscence;

Scrub, scrub, scrub

I will hide in the library and let her rule the house,

Just do not ask me about my next cycle;

Scrub, scrub, scrub

I will surrender my crown of a princess and name her the queen,

Just do not ask me about my indecision;

Scrub, scrub, scrub

I am putting my walls up and rallying the troops,

To defend my wounds and peace.

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in Family, Recovery, Relationships and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Invasion

  1. Aggie M. says:

    Ohhhh my dear friend. If you need to ‘un-load’ in the next few weeks, let’s have an ‘important appointment’ at Roasters 🙂

    Like

  2. Caroline says:

    Aww hun I am sorry! I can relate way too well to this post. Hugs!

    Like

  3. kazg10 says:

    I think having the in-laws visit at the best of times is hard but in your case more so. Sounds like you have a battle plan though, but you may be pleasantly surprised, I hope so, otherwise back to the battle plans, good luck. 🙂

    Like

  4. A few weeks after my son died (it took that long to get a visa) my mother-in-law came from Brazil and stayed with us. It was a strain in many ways. I had not met her before, and she and my husband chatted in Portuguese and made me feel lonely. But somehow by the time she left, we felt more ready to go on with life. Maybe she was just a distraction. Anyway, I hope it goes better than you think it will.

    Like

Leave a Reply

