Singing Children and a Chatty Woman

Children are singing on the stage. Their colorful dresses and innocent faces light up the entire stage, especially the little ones. They constantly look at each other for support with little fear in their eyes.  One child even walks off the stage, crying and wanting to go back to her mommy.

A woman in the audience turns around to her neighboring person and screams, “The solo singer in the middle is my child. Isn’t she adorable? Where is your child?”

“My child is up there.”

“Oh, you must be very proud. You look so moved.”

“Yes. I see what others cannot see.” The neighboring woman turns her head to the other side and dries her eyes.

“Oh, I know. I feel the same way. My little princess has been doing this for a long time. I am so proud of her. How old is your child?”

“He would have been one and three months old.”

…,…

Writing 101, Give and Take

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in Infant Loss, Writing 101 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Singing Children and a Chatty Woman

  1. Your longing and hurt is so tangible; I wish I knew what words to say to honour them. Thank you for sharing your writing with the rest of us.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. meghanoc says:

    ohh, so well written. you really conveyed your emotion here. well done.

    Like

  3. Elizabeth says:

    Sigh, just… Sigh… I have No words, I am so moved. Hugs to you jasmine

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

