Role Reversal

The nurse came out the waiting room said, “Jasmine, your husband is ready for you.”   I followed her footsteps and asked, “How is he doing?”

“He is OK. Resting.”

I opened the curtain to see him. His face was pale, eyes closed and left hand pocked with an IV. Seeing him like this, something sharp pinched my heart. I felt sometime familiar, the bed, the monitors, and the smell. It was last summer all over again. The summer we lost our baby…. How hard must have been for him, watching me unconsciously lying in the hospital bed in the ICU and knowing our baby was in stress in the NICU few doors down. In a split second, he could face the danger of losing both of us. What did he feel? Shocked? Devastated? Desperate? All I remembered was he sank in a chair and buried his head between the shoulders.

But this time he was the patient and this was a small procedure. Nothing was life threatening. As I watched him, I felt helpless. Mixed emotions charged my brain but only silenced my voice. In my misty eyes, I gently touched his face.

He woke up and voice laud, “Where is my Kung Pao chicken? I am hungry”

I chuckled.

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in Recovery, Relationships and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Role Reversal

  1. What a weird perspective to have, watching your husband as the patient. I hope he recovers quickly!

    Like

  2. This story really resonates with me. I can only imagine the complex array of emotions and reflections this would have evoked for you. I hope your husband enjoyed his Kung Pao chicken at some point!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

