Embryo Adopton?

Randomly looking through the news feed, I came across this news below.

Meet the Families Who “Adopted” Their Kids – As Embryos

After going through three IVFs and knowing how some would have many surplus, I always wanted to know what happened to the embryos they cannot use.  I knew lots of them are being discarded like garbage.  It is a relief to know that there are programs to donate the embryos to others in need.  To me, this is not any different from adoption.  It is just you would have them much earlier if you can host her/him.

Would I do it, personally?  I do not know.

I cannot wait to share with my cyber friends and am eager to know your thoughts on this.

About jasmine shei

My blog is to express my journey in finding a purpose in life, after a great loss. As I wonder in the woods, I hope I will eventually find a path to a lifelong fulfillment.
This entry was posted in Infertility and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Embryo Adopton?

  1. Embryo donation has become something I find myself more and more interested in. Yes, it’s similar to adoption in that there is no genetic link between the adoptive parents and the baby, but there is a significant difference for the adoptive parents – they control the gestation – i.e. drugs, alcohol, prenatal care, etc. They have a lot of security, assuming the oven works properly (this is not really an option for us because my uterus will not support a healthy pregnancy).
    BUT, I suspect the birth parents in adoption make a the decision to place their children for a much different reason then embryo donation parents. One is likely out of need while the other is probably much more altruistic. I do wonder what the psychological impacts are for both.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. babylossmama says:

    Fascinating! I’ve never heard of this but it adds a great option for some families.

    Like

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I would do it without hesitation. In fact if my next IVF doesn’t end with a good number of embryos I probably will. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Aggie Mowry says:

    Wow, scary and exciting, ..

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment